A Gem of a Hotel Gym – The Chedi, Muscat

Posted: August 19, 2012 in General, Gyms and other training facilities

I like to review gyms to give folks an idea of what’s available in sometimes obscure places. Though I try to keep things positive, it’s not always possible – often gyms are simply inadequate. Once in a while however, I come across a pleasant surprise!!

Hotels are not always known for their great gym facilities. They often just provide the basics so as to keep their accommodation guests satisfied.  More often than not, there is a little space set aside with a few free weights, a couple of machines, a guy who gives you a towel and uninspiring atmosphere. Other hotels, expand the target client base by providing a full-service gym with trainers and open the availability to other than hotel guests.  These are still not always the optimum gym facilities since the trainers are not always certified and are there for monitoring rather than the provision of trainer services. As well, in those gyms I often find that the hotel guests get left behind as the regulars come in and hang out with their buddy the trainer! I’ve encountered the excellent, average and the less than adequate.

I am currently at the Chedi Hotel in Muscat, Oman and here I have encountered a gem in the annals of hotel gyms. I was expecting the regular isolated room with a few machines. But what I encountered was quite different.

I walked to the end of the extensive hotel grounds, past the “Long Pool” (it really is), and had to ask for directions. I opened the door and found a luxurious women’s change room with showers, sauna, relaxing area and all the amenities needed for after training.

Then I entered the gym. It was not like any gym I’ve been in before. It’s more like a library with compartmentalized reading rooms furnished with extensive training equipment. Sprinkled in between were sitting areas, almost loungy …with cold water, Pocari Sweat, and green apples available. It is serene (although I’m not sure that’s what I would always want in a gym). I was immediately greeted by a trainer/physiotherapist who encouraged me to review what was available and to entertain any questions I had.

So I took the Ehtisham Karim Warrior Bodyweight Workout with me and trained fit for a fighter 😉  There were a number of people training in the gym, but no one seemed to get in each other’s way. I needed a space to do my workout and the gym trainer, Innes, immediately assisted in finding me a suitable spot, moved some equipment around so I could use the mirror and then discreetly moved out of range.

The only thing missing seemed to be an incline bench! However the equipment ranges from a full Pilates suite, to a Kinesis wall, with machines and free weights interspersed. The gym apparently accommodates a limited number of non-guest memberships that need to be approved. Otherwise, The Chedi has obviously invested a great deal of care (and money) in designing a gym suitable for the style and class of the hotel. While it’s not necessarily the gym at which I would want to go for fight training or any other specialized work, it does represent the best hotel gym I have ever encountered (and I’ve been to a lot!) Oh yeah, if you train hard, bring your headphones. The saccharine music to cater to all just doesn’t inspire Diesel training … But given the facilities, I think this one challenge can be overcome easily enough!

Well done Chedi Hotel, Muscat!!! The Diesel Diva highly recommends!!

Leave a comment